Around Lexington

Christmas lights around Lexington, 2026

This year’s dated explainer: when each display runs, what it costs and what to expect, from the official pages we could verify, with gaps and conflicting information called out below. Choose a drive through the lights or an evening on foot. The lights map has every display by part of town, in an order by street address.

This guide has this year’s dates, prices and visitor notes. The lasting map, with every display by part of town and a driving order, is the Christmas lights map. Also this season: the Downtown Lexington Holiday Parade on Dec 6 and every holiday event.

By Around Lex · Facts checked · About 4 min read

Edition ending . Check the date of each idea below.

Southern Lights

Southern Lights lists November 27–December 31, 2026, 5:30–10 pm, closed December 25; another paragraph on the same official page says November 28, so opening night needs confirmation. The foundation lists $35 per carload for the three-mile drive and Holiday Village. Its linked checkout has not been verified for 2026; confirm the season, selected date and final total with the official seller before paying. Use the campground entrance at 3785 Campground Road, Lexington. Leashed pets are allowed, with pets excluded from Animal Land and the restaurant except for service animals.

Date needs confirmation. The foundation's 2026 event information and Dates/Time FAQ say November 27, but Plan Your Visit on the same page says November 28. The opening date remains unresolved. Treat this guide’s event suggestion as unconfirmed until the organizer and seller agree.

Check the date for Southern Lights Holiday Festival

Shaker Village Illuminated Evenings

Walk through Illuminated Evenings at 3501 Lexington Road, Harrodsburg, on December 5, 12 and 19, 2026, from 4–8 pm. For ages 3 and up, tickets are $10 if purchased before December 1 or $12 on the day; ages 2 and under are free. Tree lighting is at 6:30 pm, and the village describes uneven limestone and gravel paths, steps and parking set back from buildings, so ask about a stroller route. Its general pet rules allow leashed dogs outdoors in the Historic Centre, with pet access to dining facilities, exhibition buildings and some trails limited to service dogs.

View Shaker Village Illuminated Evenings

Ashland Illumination

Ashland Illumination is December 5, 2026, from 4–7 pm at the Henry Clay Estate, 120 Sycamore Road, Lexington. Visit on foot for the listed Christmas Shoppe, chorus and open house. Enter the parking lot from Fincastle Road; some grounds paths are paved. The 2026 event page does not yet state admission prices, an exact lighting time or event rules for dogs and strollers.

View Ashland Illumination

Christmas at Mustard Seed Hill

Christmas at Mustard Seed Hill is a walk-through at 1122 Main Street, Millersburg, on select nights November 27–December 23, 2026, from 5–9 pm. Admission is $17 per person, $15 for veterans and seniors, and $1 for ages 7 and under; choose your evening from the official ticket calendar. Follow the South driveway to the rear parking lot; friendly leashed pets may visit outdoors, with indoor pet access limited to service dogs. The venue describes the drive from Lexington as 30 minutes and lists accessible grounds, market space and first floors of the Allen House and McIntyre Hall.

View Christmas at Mustard Seed Hill

Gatton Park Winter Village

Winter Village is Gatton Park's three-week holiday celebration downtown, with an 81-foot illuminated tree you can walk beneath, light displays, igloos to rent and visits with Santa. Its holiday market runs Friday and Saturday nights, December 4 and 5 and December 11 and 12, from 5 to 10 pm. The park has not posted the full 2026 season dates, admission or visitor rules yet, so check its site before you plan a night around the lights.

View Winter Village Holiday Market at Gatton Park

Lexington Christmas Parade

Lexington's 2026 Christmas parade starts Sunday, December 6, at 5 pm. Walk to a viewing spot on Main Street between Midland Avenue and Mill Street, the published parade route. The organizer has not stated a finish time or spectator admission price on the checked pages. Spectator dog and stroller rules are not listed in the 2026 application, so check the organizer's final visitor instructions before choosing a spot.

View Downtown Lexington Holiday Parade

Triangle Park tree lighting

Luminate Lexington's tree and menorah lighting follows the December 6, 2026 parade at about 6 pm at Triangle Park, 400 West Main Street. Walk into the park; its visitor guide lists street parking on Short, Main and Vine and nearby garages. The organizer has not published a nightly 2026 lights schedule, finish time or lighting admission price on the checked page, and event-specific dog and stroller rules are not stated.

View Luminate Lexington Tree and Menorah Lighting

Lights Under Louisville

Drive through Lights Under Louisville at 1841 Taylor Avenue, Louisville, November 13, 2026–January 2, 2027; AAA's route guide puts Lexington and Louisville about 1.5 hours apart by car, before event traffic. Standard vehicle passes start at $42.99 and require online purchase before arrival. Published hours are 9 am–10 pm, except opening night is 6–10 pm and Thanksgiving and Christmas Day are 5:30–10 pm. The checked show page does not publish pet or stroller rules.

View Lights Under Louisville

The Christmas lights map: every display we have checked, grouped by part of town, with dates and hours.

Share this guide

Send this guide to someone you’re making plans with. Check each idea’s date and official details before going.

Email this guide

Guide link: https://aroundlex.com/guides/christmas-lights-lexington-ky

Official sources for this guide

Conditions can change after a recorded check. Recheck visitor information before leaving.

A useful starting point, not a reservation.

Check the linked official sources for opening hours, admission, restrictions, and changes. These suggestions do not imply affiliation or a measured walking route.

Send a correction