Date needs confirmation

The foundation's 2026 event information and Dates/Time FAQ say November 27, but Plan Your Visit on the same page says November 28. The opening date remains unresolved.

This is not a new cancellation or postponement announcement. We have paused date recommendations and calendar downloads while the question is open.

Browse upcoming events

Southern Lights Holiday Festival

A three-mile drive through Christmas lights at the Kentucky Horse Park, with a Holiday Village stop included in the carload price. Opening night needs confirmation.

The details that matter

Organizer-listed schedule; confirmation pending
Friday, December 4
Date needs confirmationEastern Time
Other organizer-listed dates (33)
Where
Kentucky Horse Park
4089 Iron Works PikeGet directions
Admission
$35 per carload listed by the foundationThe seller’s 2026 checkout and final total have not been verified. The foundation says the carload ticket includes entry to the Holiday Village. Food, rides and other optional purchases cost extra.
Registration
Ask Kentucky Horse Park Foundation about sign-up
Who to ask

Questions about this event go to the organizer, Kentucky Horse Park Foundation. Ask them through the official event page.

A black Arabian horse with a red ribbon tied in its tail walks head-down across a paddock at the Kentucky Horse Park, white plank fences and spring-green fields behind it, April 2010.
Kentucky Horse Park, . Historical photo.Photo: Jean · CC BY 2.0 · Credits & changes

Before you go

Confirm opening night with the foundation before choosing a date. Before paying, confirm the 2026 season, selected date and final total with the official seller. Leashed pets are allowed, with pets excluded from Animal Land and the restaurant except for service animals. The FAQ warns that weekend waits can last several hours.

About this event

The foundation's 2026 event information lists November 27 through December 31, 5:30–10 pm, closed December 25. Another paragraph still says November 28, so opening night remains unresolved. The foundation lists $35 per carload online or at the gate; the seller’s 2026 checkout and final total have not been verified. Use the campground entrance at 3785 Campground Road, Lexington, then park at the Holiday Village after completing the drive.

Before you book

Tickets
The foundation lists $35 per carload online or at the gate, where cash, credit and debit cards are taken. Its linked checkout has not been verified for the 2026 season; confirm the season, selected date and final total before paying. Larger vehicles pay more: $100 for a mini bus of 25 or more people, $150 for a school bus and $250 for a motor coach. Tickets are not sold by phone.From khpfoundation.org, checked October 21, 2026
Costs on top of admission
  • Animal feed in Animal Land: $2$2 for a feed cone or $3 for a cup of carrots.
  • Pony and camel rides: $6$6 for a pony ride or a camel ride, $10 for a pony ride with a photo, or $6 for a photo on a pony only.
From khpfoundation.org, checked October 21, 2026
Indoors or outdoors
Outdoors. The page says: “Animal Land, Santa and the pony & camel rides are all located outside.”The drive itself is in your car; the page says Southern Lights is open rain or shine.From khpfoundation.org, checked October 27, 2026

Good to know

Only what the organizer or the venue states on official pages. Not stated means we did not find it there, so ask before you go. Accessibility guide

Dogs
At Kentucky Horse Park: Dogs in some areas.“The Kentucky Horse Park welcomes well-behaved pets on most of our grounds.”On a leash or in a kennel. Pets are not allowed in the museum exhibit areas, the Iron Works Café (the covered patio is fine) or the Alltech Arena; service animals may go everywhere.From kyhorsepark.com, checked October 27, 2026
Strollers
Not stated.
Wheelchair access
At Kentucky Horse Park: Wheelchair access in some areas.“Wheelchairs are available at no cost, on a first-come, first-served basis at the Visitor Center.”The park says all paths are paved but there are inclines and declines from barn to barn, and the horse-drawn trolley has a wheelchair ramp.From kyhorsepark.com, checked October 27, 2026
Sensory supports
Not stated.

Food before or after

Browse food and drink

Places in North Lexington to consider, listed alphabetically. Check today’s hours and booking before you go.

More at this venue

See the venue